• Article Image Alt Text
    Colby Smith won the Longhorn Award and the Basketball Offensive MVP.

McLeod honors athletes at annual All-Sports Banquet

By Tim Emmons

McLeod’s athletes, coaches and faithful followers of the athletic program gathered Tuesday, May 23, to honor the hard working young men and women who helped put the Longhorns on the map.
Highlights of the evening included Colby Smith and Caitlin Hall winning the coveted Longhorn and Lady Longhorn awards for their hard work, encouraging their teammates and for being all-around great student athletes in different sports.
Smith also won the Basketball Offensive MVP Award.
Hall also won a trifecta of awards after being named MVP in cross country, track and JV basketball.
Cross country Head Coach David Adams chose Zach Mauldin as his MVP.
Both the boys’ and girls’ teams won district which now makes three straight championships for the boys’ team.
Mauldin was also the JV basketball MVP and was chosen as Most Improved for track.
Adams also chose Faith Crocker and Ryan Anderson as the Most Dedicated, and Anderson also won the Basketball Defensive MVP Award.
Zach Prince and Jilian Ellis were chosen as Most Improved for cross country, and Jaden McGray received a cross country state qualifier certificate.
Coach Marty Francis gave high praises to the junior varsity basketball team after they were crowned district champs (10-1) for the second consecutive year.
Bailee Fielder won the Most Dedicated award for the JV team.
The varsity girls’ team had by far the most successful season in school history.
The Lady Longhorns finished with a record of (27-7, 13-1) and won district, bi-district, area and made it to the regional quarterfinals.
Tessa Glenn was named the District MVP and made the All-Region list which made it easy for Coach Francis to give Glenn the MVP Award for basketball.
Ellis took home the Defensive MVP award after a stellar basketball season, Shelby Davis took home the Basketball Offensive MVP Award and Selena Moon took home the Basketball Defensive MVP Award. 
Isaac McKnight was chosen as the Most Improved for JV boys’ basketball and Nick Howe was selected as the Most Dedicated.
The varsity boys’ basketball team finished the year (28-7) which is the best finish in school history, and placed second in district behind a strong Clarksville team before going on to win a bi-district championship.
J.R. Smith won the MVP award and Prince won the Defensive MVP for the basketball team. For Smith this is the second year in a row he made the TABC All-Region team of which only 20 players out of 700 receive honors.
Blake Williams also received a 6th-Man of the Year certificate.
For tennis Seth Willis was named MVP for the boys after winning district in his first year of play.
Teammate Tessa Glenn won the Tennis Most Improved Award and Jilian Ellis took home the Tennis Most Dedicated Award.
The softball team placed second in district and won a bi-district championship this year.
Emma Parker won the MVP Award and Anna Parker won the Softball Defensive MVP Award.
Shelby Davis was named the district’s Offensive MVP and she received the Softball Offensive Award at the banquet while Selena Moon also picked up a Softball Defensive MVP Award.
J.R. Smith took home the MVP Award for baseball and track, Mac Calhoun won the Baseball Most Dedicated Award, Zach Prince and Tessa Glenn received Track Most Improved awards and Tanner Bergman and Haley Burden took home Track Most Dedicated awards.

Cass County Now

306 West Main St
Atlanta, TX 75551