• Layton Henson was named MVP for baseball and Jose Arredondo was given the Leadership Award. From left: Arredondo, Head Coach David Hooten and Henson.

AHS honors student-athletes at annual All-Sports Banquet

By Tim Emmons
Atlanta ISD hosted its annual All-Sports Banquet May 8, at the First Baptist Church - Family Life Center to acknowledge their student-athletes for hard work and dedication in various school sports.
Matt McClure, Rabbit Athletic Director and head football coach, opened the ceremony by recognizing each and every person responsible for helping Atlanta athletics excel, and acknowledged the coaching staff for preparing young Rabbit athletes to carry on the Atlanta Rabbit tradition in the classroom and on the field.
Coach McClure went on to recognize several people that helped the Atlanta athletic program throughout the year including the administration staff, school board trustees, principals, athletic boosters and the tech department for their video assistance throughout the season.
After cheer coach Renee Rosser recognized the former and new cheer members, volleyball Head Coach Kevin Breiby spoke about the season and recognized his players.
Atlanta had twelve girls awarded All-District/All-Academic volleyball honors in this year’s release of the All-District list.
TeShuna Sheppard was named Superlative Blocker; Avery Trotter was named to the First Team; Alecia Garcia and Alyssa Simmons were named to the Second Team and Brittany Collins, Keyona Easter, and Cydnee Wood were Honorable Mention players.
Ladies making the Academic All-District list were: Daniela Arredondo, Collins, Garcia, Dyamond Grant, Aniya King, Candace Nuckels, Sheppard, Simmons, Trotter, Amanda Whatley and Wood.
Breiby chose senior Avery Trotter to receive the Maroon and White Award (MVP) for volleyball. This is the second year Trotter has taken home the MVP. The team also had a volleyball smothered in color which came after every big game, win or accomplishment.
Coach Breiby gave the game ball to senior TeShuna Sheppard.
The Lady Rabbs’ track coach Jarrick Farmer talked about the great performances of each athlete on the team and how with low numbers of athletes at times and against all odds the Lady Rabbs finished most meets in the top two.
This year Atlanta won district for the first time since 1999, and triple jump champion TeShuna Sheppard made her third appearance in four years at the state meet.
Coach Farmer chose TeShuna Sheppard as his MVP for the second year, and he also chose Aniya King for the MVP honor.
Farmer chose Hannah Wicks as his Most Improved athlete.
Farmer also coached the Lady Rabbs’ basketball team for the third consecutive season.
Last year the Lady Rabbs made the playoffs for the first time in 12 years, and this year Atlanta won a Bi-District championship with a big win over Canton in the first round.
Coach Farmer handed out two awards to four ladies.
Co-MVPs for the basketball team were Sheppard and Kaydee Kelly, and Co-Most Improved players were Keyona Easter and Sheveonia Smith.
Tennis Head Coach Stuart Drake talked about the great season his team of players had and how much time players put into their training.
Drake chose Wendy Medina as the girls’ MVP and Hunter Daugherty his Maroon and White winner for the boys. Both Medina and Daugherty were last year’s Most Improved players.
This season the Most Improved players were Mackenzie Yaag and Bryson Bourne.
Softball Head Coach Tobie Dunlap felt he had a better team than records indicated, and it showed as the Lady Rabbs sent No. 1 seed Van home in a three-game series and claimed a Bi-District championship in the process.
His MVP award went to Victoria Bergt, his Most Improved pick was Cydnee Wood and he chose Alyssa Simmons for the Perseverance Award after the young athlete came back from a broken wrist to help finish out the season.
For the soccer team, third-year Head Coach Will Allen chose Jaime Campos as his MVP for soccer and picked Armando Chairez as his Most Improved player.
In cross country Allen selected Davis Flint and Hannah Wicks as his boys’ and girls’ MVP.
Atlanta Head Basketball Coach Jarrod Boston pointed out the highlights of the year for his team before handing the Maroon and White MVP Award to Quenton Rowe.
Baseball head coach David Hooten spoke about the exciting season which saw the Rabbs sneak into the playoffs after a one-game seeding victory over Pittsburg.
Atlanta lost to a tough Canton team in three games, but during that stretch the Rabbs won one of the games and had the other games in hand going into the final frames.
Hooten chose Layton Henson as the baseball Maroon and White Award winner, and gave the Leadership Award to Jose Arredondo.
Atlanta’s Golf Coach Whitney Adams handed out an array of awards.
Her MVP choice for the Lady Rabbs was Jennifer Bridges and for the Rabbs’ golf team Taylor Carrell was picked by Adams.
Rebecca Rinehart was chosen as the girls’ Most Improved after she broke through to regionals with Bridges.
Caleb Helfrick and Dylan Peace claimed the Most Improved Award for the boys’ golf team.
The Runnin’ Rabbs’ track team dominated every track meet they entered this year no matter the competition.
The team won their third consecutive district title and along the way topped tough 4A, 5A and 6A competition.
The boys’ team has now won 27 of the last 30 district titles, since 1988, and the 4x100m relay team, 4x200m relay team is going back to state again.
The relay teams include runners: Kelton Young, Trin Taylor, Austin Brown, Jawan King and Desmond Webster. Josh Edwards is also going in the 300m hurdles and Taylor gets to compete in both the long jump and triple jump.
Head Coach Nick Miller chose King and Young as Co-MVPs, and both Hunter Belk and teammate Luke Anthony as his Most Improved runners.
He also added freshman Dagen Ward as the Newcomer of the Year.
The powerlifting team had another successful year as several lifters qualified for Regionals.
Nick Cooper was picked as the MVP for making his second straight appearance at the state meet.
Football head coach Matt McClure spoke about the successes found in the season and then chose La Tech signee Tristan Allen as the MVP.
Special awards were handed out as well including the Jimmy McWaters Award for the Most Improved student athletes given to Ethan Mauldin; the Coach Rabb Most Spirited Award given to Christian Oliver for being a true team player, having a good attitude, encouraging teammates, working hard and not complaining; and the Toland Meredith Most Dedicated Award given to Desmond Robinson.
Scholastic awards were given to individuals that excel in the classroom and on the field.
To be a student athlete the pupil side needs to excel first and two students met that with amazing skills shown in the classroom.
The winners chosen were Brock Childress and Wendy Medina.
Trin Taylor was named the winner of the Caver Johnson Award for being an outstanding athlete in two or more sports and TeShuna Sheppard was named the recipient of the Carolyn Johnson Award.
Brent Primrose presented the Athletic Booster Club Scholarship awards to Victoria Bergt, Jennifer Bridges, Brock Childress, Davis Flint, Grant Harrell, Victoria Johnson, Kaydee Kelly, Savannah Riddell, Avery Trotter and Grantland Utley.

Cass County Now

The Cass County Sun
122 W. Houston Street
Linden, TX 75563

Atlanta Citizens Journal
306 West Main Street
Atlanta, TX 75551